2022 Nohl Scholarship winners include artists Jason S. Yi and Valaria Tatera


Five artists, including Valaria Tatera and Jason S. Yi, have won Southeast Wisconsin’s prestigious award for individual artists, the Mary L. Nohl Fellowship.

This year, the Nohl Fund is awarding two established artists $35,000 and three emerging artists $15,000 each to create new work or complete work in progress. The funds allocated in memory of the late artist Nohl are unrestricted.

Each artist also receives a $5,000 budget for professional development/production.

The 19th annual competition attracted 165 applicants.

The five winners, all from Milwaukee, will participate in a future exhibition at the Haggerty Museum of Art.

Established Artist Category Winners:

  • Interdisciplinary artist Jason S.Yi works in the fields of photography, video, sculpture, drawing and site-specific installations. He has exhibited regionally, nationally and internationally. Born in South Korea, he came to the United States at a young age and gave his work, as the Nohl committee put it, a “bicultural lens”.
  • An inducted member of the Bad River Band of Lake Superior Chippewa, Valaria Tatera “Examines self-identity and contemporary indigenous themes such as the relationship between colonization and extinction, visibility and indigenous resilience,” Nohl said in a statement announcing this year’s winners.

Winner in the Young Artists category:

  • John W Balsley creates drawings and comics with anthropomorphic characters and satirical situations influenced by both cartoons and alternative comics.
  • Experimental filmmaker Inna Dmitrieva combines elements of documentary, essay film and abstraction in both autobiographical films and larger-scale works.
  • By printing, drawing, weaving and quilting, Molly Hassler Mines “the complex relationship between representation and identity as a queer person in the Midwest.”

Finalists in the established artist category included Aaron Boyd, Yevgeniya Kaganovich, David Najib Kasir and Heidi Parkes.

Finalists in the up and coming group included Alyssa Ackerman, Britany Gunderson and Nicholas Perry.

The judges included Jade Powers, associate curator at the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art in Kansas City; Victoria Sung, associate curator of visual arts at the Walker Art Center in Minneapolis; and Toccarra AH Thomas, a media and performance artist, film programmer, and arts curator who is director of the Joan Mitchell Center in New Orleans.

Due to the pandemic, the judging process was conducted virtually, including virtual studio visits with the established artist and upcoming artist finalists.

The grant program is funded by a legacy from the late Fox Point artist Mary L. Nohl.

Contact Jim Higgins at [email protected] Follow him on Twitter at @jhiggy.


Comments are closed.